‘Protein punch’ recipe

The other day, I wanted a good dose of protein and energy, so I made a delicious and nutritious concoction using a bag of Essential organic soup mix (a combination of lentils, split peas, rice and barley), which had been given to me ages ago.

Firstly, I had prepared the whole bag of soup mix, by boiling it in water for 45 mins, so that I had a supply to use as a base for several meals. One of these was a very simple pasta dish, which I will explain here:

  • Fry onion and fresh tomatoes for several minutes
  • Add passata and a selection of seasonings (I used oregano, garlic, sage, thyme, basil, and black pepper)
  • Stir in a portion of the ready-prepared soup mix and some nutritional yeast
  • Let the mixture simmer away while the pasta boils

Not a particularly exciting-looking dish, but it is very tasty and healthy 🙂

14081460_920025614769443_291113374_n

Leave a Reply

