Busy and excited!

Hi folks, it’s been a while again since I last posted, what with organising all our stuff into our new house, working, and preparing for our holidays (just a few days to go now yay!)

I think it’s accurate to say that I am one hundred percent happy and comfortable with a vegan diet now 🙂 Really the only difficulties I have are the inevitable feelings of frustration and anger which come from being aware of where food comes from, and the problems with the world’s environment and animal welfare.

But yes, sadly when you’ve hopped off the proverbial fence on the vegan side, you do suddenly become frustrated with people, and are likely to feel isolated if you’re not surrounded by like-minded ones! I’m very lucky to live with Jacob and my mum. The only non-vegan thing my mum will [begrudgingly!] eat is the occasional egg, when we eat out, because she is very restricted in restaurants, what with not being able to eat garlic or onions :/

Speaking of which, I have a recipe for a yummy pasta dish, which is fully vegan, garlic and onion free! (Judge the amounts depending how many people are eating):

  • Fry some Fry’s sausages in a bit of rapeseed oil for a few minutes until they are pretty much cooked through
  • Add peppers, courgette, mushrooms and fresh tomatoes for a few more minutes until softened
  • Add tomato passata and tomato purée, as well as a generous mixture of dried basil, oregano, thyme and sage, and a bit of water if needed
  • Allow to simmer while the pasta boils for however long it says on the packet :

Right, on to my favourite part: yummy things I have eaten recently! 😀

13871838_902405783198093_1537680152_n
Shakeaway, made with soya milk and Oreos!

On a very hot and sunny day last week, I met up with a uni friend in town, and whilst I slowly turned a light shade of lobster in the sun, I got a huge, and very cheap, portion of sweet potato fries and salad with sweet chilli sauce from a food stall 🙂

13883681_902405753198096_706063824_n
Hot, in all senses!!
13866908_902405766531428_2004814605_n
Grilled ciabatta slices with Sacla freefrom pesto and Violife cheese
13883698_902405773198094_421632933_n
Home-made pizza (well, with bases courtesy of Sainsbury’s!) and salad

Found this in Holland & Barrett, and it turned out to be half price! Should have bought more, as it was amazing:

13874600_902405736531431_1456385318_n

Next Tuesday, Jacob and I will be off on our various summer adventures, for which I am very excited 🙂 Firstly, we are heading to London to be assistant production managers for a show in the Camden Fringe, then we are flying up to Edinburgh for the festival! I have booked a great combination of comedy shows and ghost walks for us to enjoy, and I look forward to sampling lots of vegan fare in both cities 🙂

Ciao, until next time! 😀

Leave a Reply

