Answers to stupid questions :D

Ciao peeps! It’s been a while since I wrote a post about general thoughts and/or frustrations regarding the attitudes of defensive omnivores towards vegans. The links below are a combination of serious, informative and humorous answers to those questions which all vegans are tired of hearing. Since reading them, I have ended up discussing some of the topics with a few omnis who were open-minded and interested in going vegan in the future 🙂

http://plenteousveg.com/answers-to-stupid-vegan-questions/

http://vegancoach.co.uk/answer-dumb-questions-youll-get-people-find-youre-vegan/

http://www.thewickedgoodvegan.com/but-why/

https://www.veganmainstream.com/2014/01/08/natalie-slater-snappy-answers-to-stupid-questions-about-veganism/

Something I find particularly ironic is when omnis ask where vegans get their protein, or whether they are getting the right vitamins, because of how hypocritical the questions usually are. The vast majority of omnivores do not make sure they get all the right nutrients, vitamins and protein, and do not take good care of their health, but people never automatically ask an omnivore “Are you getting enough B12? Make sure you don’t turn anaemic!” etc. etc. As a side note, I was talking to a vegan colleague at work yesterday, and she was saying that apparently it is not possible to be deficient in protein but, funnily enough, you can have too much! I did not know this and will have to find out more.

Another question which irritates me is “Do you take supplements?” because it is usually asked with an accusatory air, as if a vegan diet alone cannot possibly provide all our essential vitamins. As it happens, I do occasionally take a vegan multi-vitamin tablet, but ONLY if I feel I need an extra boost (as a lot of onmis also do!). For example, nutritional yeast is packed full of B12, but I do not eat nutritional yeast all the time. Similarly, I am prone to getting leg cramps, and so if I am not currently eating leafy greens, I might take a magnesium supplement to help me along 🙂

So to summarise, all those judgemental and defensive omnivores can move on and stop being hypocritical! 😀

On a more cheerful note, I made a lentil and spinach curry again the other day (recipe here: Cooking curry!) and this time I remembered to take a picture. I didn’t bother with the raita this time, because the weather has been thoroughly weird and unseasonably cold, so I wanted something warming:

13115650_856237107814961_1382916826_n
Comforting curry

On a slightly warmer day recently, we tried Booja Booja’s chocolate ice-cream, which was amazing! Until vegan Ben & Jerry’s becomes widely available, this will be my go-to cinema companion (as well as Jacob of course!)

13153419_856238911148114_1467755214_n
Enter a caption

I also tried a simple new recipe for vegan mayonnaise, which somebody posted on Facebook and involved combining 1 cup of oil, 1/2 cup soya milk, salt n pepper, 1 tbsp vinegar and 1 tbsp mustard. It turned out far too runny though, even after being left in the fridge, and was a bit too mustardy for my personal taste as well, so I will adjust this in the future and post an update. I could tell that, with a few alterations, it will be delicious 🙂 Until then, I’m going to add garlic powder and herbs to a tub of vegan mayo from Sainsbury’s, to make an easy substitute pizza dip 😀

Leave a Reply

